A soup of my own invention

This post is coming a bit late considering that the weather has finally changed and it is now hot as blazes. I was beginning to wonder if we were going to have a summer at all (which would have been fine by me). However, if you find yourself somewhere cold, this soup is just the ticket.

I am very fond of ginger-y chicken soups. I feel like they are more restorative than the classic chicken noodle. But that may just be because I love ginger. in fact, I thought this recipe could use more ginger. My husband, instead, thought it was plenty ginger-y.

Pay attention to the salt. I used a low-sodium broth and it still turned out salty. You need a fair bit of soy sauce to really taste it. Adding the lemon juice is a trick a learned from America’s Test Kitchen, when they made a wild rice and mushroom soup. It is a classic in my mom’s kitchen and one of my favorites. However, it takes a long time to prepare. You could call this a loose interpretation of that soup.

Asian-inspired Chicken Mushroom Soup

1 onion, sliced
12 mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tbsp ginger, minced
3 c chicken broth, low sodium
2 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 c cooked chicken, shredded
1/4 c rice
Juice of half of a lemon
2 tbsp herbs, such as chives, fresh lemongrass, or even spinach

In a large pot, Sauté onions and mushrooms over medium heat until mushrooms are nicely browned. Add garlic and ginger. Sauté briefly.

Add chicken broth, soy sauce, and chicken. Season to taste. Bring to a boil.

Add rice, lower heat, and cook 15 minutes. Stir occasionally to keep the rice from sticking. Add herbs, lemon juice, and salt if needed. Serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Soups & Stews, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

