Intensely Fudgey Rye Brownies

2017-01-06_0827

Maybe you think that brownies are the last thing you need in January. But maybe you are wrong.

2017 has had a rough start for me with an intense stomach bug/cold/death combo. It did leave me with a lot of time to read and catch up on some old issues of Food and Wine I had lying around. Among the articles was an interesting piece on Claire Ptak, an American baking in London. It seemed like fate when I later heard an interview Claire did on the radio discussing rye brownies and her other innovations on classics.

I was quite concerned about rye flour. I basically know nothing about it. Google told me it has less gluten (or maybe it was protein) than white flour and so bakes differently. Guess I’m going to learn now that I have several pounds of rye flour! I’m not great at baking bread. Yeast and I don’t exactly get along so I shall have to find some other ways to incorporate rye into my cooking. Suggestions welcome!

More importantly, I can make more of these brownies. I toned down the sugar in the batter in exchange for chunks of chocolate on top. The difference in texture helps keep it from being overwhelming. Still, you may want to cut modest pieces!

Fudgey Rye Brownies
Adapted from Violet Bakery via The New York Times

11 tbsp butter
10 oz semisweet chocolate
1 1/2 c rye flour
1/2 c natural cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
4 eggs
1/2 c sugar
1 c brown sugar
1 tbsp vanilla
2 milk chocolate bars, chopped roughly

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. Melt chocolate and butter in a small saucepan over low heat until just combined. Remove from heat.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together rye flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Beat eggs, sugars, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Beat in melted chocolate mixture until smooth. Beat in flour mixture.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth the top. Sprinkle with chopped chocolate pieces and bake until brownies are mostly firm, but with a very slight wobble in the center, about 25 minutes.
Leave a comment

Filed under American, Cookies & Bars

Leave a Reply

