Eating for England

51mfif4txol

A couple of years ago, I finally discovered Nigel Slater.

He had been around but I’d never really paid attention to him, more focused on Simon Hopkinson or Jamie Oliver. So, when Netflix suggested I watch Toast, I was intrigued. I found the story engaging and charming. This seemed like a man who talked about food the same way I wished I could. I promptly went out and bought four of his books.

Those who know of my Anglophilia won’t be surprised that amongst the titles I selected was Eating for England: The Delights and Eccentricities of the British at Table. I have at least three cookbooks which focus specifically on cooking in the British Isles. This tongue-in-cheek volume looks at the British and their relationship with food.

Nigel Slater is certainly a man after my heart, or stomach. He understands the intricacies and delights of eating a Toblerone. He is on Team Rice Pudding over Team Tapioca. He loves tea time and sweets and holidays. While he will write several very similar blurbs about the same idea, the books still manages to be both charming and witty.

Slater understands that sweets mark important occasions, whether they be good or bad. It reminds me of my own cooking, especially of late. Cooking for comfort. 2016 has been a long year and I am ready for it to wrap up. I plan to spend the rest of he year doing things I enjoy. Reading books because they amuse me, not because I have to. Cooking and baking what I enjoy, not because I am watching calories and judging myself. Spending time with people I like, doing things I like. Because isn’t life too short for anything else?

Available from Harper Perennial, $14.95

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

