Putting bakeries to shame

img_1581

Yes, I am wearing a citrus shirt while serving a citrus food. What can I say? I know what I like.

Lemon bars are a big hit in this household and at my work. But for a more tropical vibe, and a more elegant feel, I like a lime tart. With a coconut shortbread crust, it is like eating a little piece of heaven. This was made for the birthday of a very lovely lady and I think it is an excellent way to ring in another year of friendship!

I used a spring-form pan to make serving easier. However, I think a pie pan would also work. The lime curd sets up very nicely and I didn’t feel the need to add food coloring. The lime was naturally quite neon. My only caution is that the crust can be a bit challenging to cut. I thought pulling it out in advance would help but it just loosened the curd. So keep it cold and use a good knife!

Lime Coconut Tart
Inspired by the Barefoot Contessa

Crust
1 c flour
1/2 c coconut
1/3 c sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 sticks butter

Filling
4 eggs
4 limes, zested and juiced
1 stick butter
1/8 tsp salt
1 1/2 c sugar
lime garnish slices or curls

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Mix together crust ingredients, cutting butter into dry ingredients. Press crust into the bottom of a 9 inch spring form pan. Bake crust for 20 min until lightly golden.

Whisk together ingredients for filling in a small saucepan. Set over low heat and cook 10 min, or until thickened.

Pour filling over cooled crust. Chill for at least 1 hour in fridge before serving. Garnish with lime slice or zest curls

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes & Tarts

Leave a Reply

