Hello again

13428467_10207099197781921_7649942676644795737_nWhere can I even begin?

Well, you can thank (or blame) my sister for my return. She and I don’t get to spend as much time together as we used to and it has led to me neglecting things. She is always very encouraging of my cooking (because I think she appreciates having cookies around our parents’ house).

I could try to blame work, which partially true. My new position kicked into high gear as soon as I got back from my honeymoon and it’s incredible being able to enact change. Or I could blame winter, which makes my moody and likely to cook the same things over and over again.

But it would be more accurate that I haven’t had much so say.

Let’s turn our attention instead to another misunderstood thing: radicchio. A dark red chicory which has a bitter edge that some don’t enjoy. Risotto made with radicchio is traditional to Venice (one of our honeymoon destinations) and I made us a plateful for a festive occasion.

My mother used to make a radicchio risotto with goat cheese stirred in at the end. Despite my searches, I couldn’t find anything to say this was traditional. But it is very delicious. The creamy cheese balances the bitter radicchio. If you don’t have a fresh goat cheese available, cream cheese works surprisingly well. Add a touch more salt and a little lemon if you miss the tang. I also use a white wine rather than red so as not to disfigure the radicchio’s great color.

Radicchio Risotto
Inspired by Emiko Davies

olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 small red radicchio, shredded
1 1/2 c Arborio rice
4 c chicken stock
1 c white wine
4 oz chevre

Heat broth in a kettle to a simmer and keep hot over low heat.
Place olive oil, onion, and radicchio in a large, wide pot. Saute until soft and translucent over medium heat.
Raise heat, add rice, and toast grains briefly. Add wine and stir until it is completely absorbed.
Lower heat to low. Begin to add broth until rice is covered slightly. Stir once and then allow to cook until liquid is mostly absorbed. Add more liquid, stir, and cook off. Repeat for about 20 minutes. Stir occasionally to keep the rice from sticking.
Once the rice becomes creamy, taste a few grains of rice. The rice should be tender,not hard or crunchy. Continue cooking and adding liquid until it achieves the correct texture.
Beat in chevre. Taste and add additional salt as necessary. Serve immediately!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Italian, Rice & Grains, Vegetable

2 responses to “Hello again

  1. Ma

    Ciao Bella! Did Ii spell that right? Oh well. I had just wondered if I had missed a posting (or 2…) and you appear – Yahoo! Sorry to hear you are very busy, but I think that is life, free time abhors a vacuum and will suck everything you have out of you.

    Take care, hope we all get to be together soon.
    Ma

    • Your Italian is perfetto! I’m going to try to pick it up again because I really do enjoy posting and summers should be calmer. Hopefully I’ll get to see you in July. Quack, quack!

Leave a Reply

