Falling into fall

12120136_10205587896000321_7193053174992858971_o

I resist eating squash throughout the spring and summer. Even in early fall, like now, I normally try to resist. Something about squash really calls out for crisp, sunny weather to me. And now that I finally have some, I’m stocking up.

Last week, I was feeling very organized. I prepped lots of vegetables, made roast chicken, stock, and soup, and roasted up some butternut squash. Thank goodness! Because I have been running around ever since. The chicken and veg are long gone, so I was left with some lovely squash.

Butternut squash or pumpkin ravioli are amongst my favorites but I nixed the idea on account of lack of ravioli maker and lack of interest in all that work. This is my attempt at translating the flavors of those ravioli into a simpler recipe. I served this sauce over butterfly pasta. I think it works better with shaped pasta on account of all the ridges, but let me know if you try something different.

Butternut Squash Pasta
Adapted from Martha Stewart

1 1/2 lb butternut squash, peeled and cut into 2″ pieces
3 garlic cloves
1 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper
3 tbsp butter
1/4 c skim milk
1 box shaped pasta
grated Parmesan cheese or sage leaves to serve

Toss squash and garlic in olive oil with salt and pepper. Roast at 375° F for 30-40 min, until squash is tender.

Puree squash and garlic in a food processor with butter and milk. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

Cook pasta according to package instructions. Reserve 1 c pasta water. Add some pasta water to sauce in food processor until thinned. Pour sauce over pasta.  Add more pasta water to thin sauce if necessary. Serve with cheese or sage leaves, if desired.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pasta, Vegetable, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

