The magic of peanut butter

rice krispie valentines

Like many delicious things (Popsicles spring to mind), these treats were a happy accident. I didn’t leave soda outside though. I was making adorable heart-shaped rice krispie treats when I realized I needed to make vegetarian-friendly treats as well. Because it is ridiculously cold out, I didn’t want to go out and search for vegan marshmallows or Fluff or something I wasn’t going to use again.

As usual, the internet came through with something delicious! If you don’t eat corn syrup, I don’t know what to tell you. I’ve seem some recipes with some kind of brown rice syrup…I’m not sure I can recommend it because I’ve never worked with it.

I don’t have photos of them, just of their pink gelatin-based cousins. But I assure you, they were a big hit and anything shaped like a heart is always adorable.

Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Treats
Adapted from All Recipes

1/2 c sugar
1/2 c brown sugar
1 c light corn syrup
1 c peanut butter, creamy
1 tsp salt
6 c rice krispie cereal

Grease a 9×13 pan.

Add sugars, corn syrup, peanut butter, and salt to a large pot. Heat while stirring until sugars are dissolved. Remove pan from heat.

Add rice krispie cereal to pot and stir gently to combine. Make sure you are thorough! No one likes peanut-butter-less krispies! Dump cereal mixture into pan.

Using greased hand, press mixture into pan and cool completely before cutting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies & Bars, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

