Chewy, Minty Goodness

peppermint patty cookiesI am a bad person. I promised to post these cookies some time ago. And , in my defense, I thought that I had.

Apparently, all I had actually accomplished was  typing up the recipe. The story behind these cookies is actually a bit longer than the recipe though. In the beginning of October, whilst out grocery shopping at BJs (a wholesale club, for those not in the know), I realized we hadn’t yet bought Halloween candy. Why I thought it would be a good idea to buy Halloween candy in bulk, I am not sure. The point is that we ended up with 175 individual York Peppermint Patties.  And not a single trick o’ treater.

We weren’t in fact home during the  scheduled Halloween session so that is partially our fault. But why do kids trick o’ treat between 5-6 pm nowadays? Very strange. Anyways, we thought we’d be ok. After all, mints tend to prevent overindulgence. Or so we thought. My impressive stamina in the quest for all thins sugary shocked us both. Quickly, I began to search for a recipe which would allow me to use up some of our stash.

Peppermint patty ice cream? Sounds heavenly but I have no ice cream maker.
Peppermint patty cake? Well, it’s really just chocolate cake with peppermints on top, plus it is a paint to serve.
Peppermint patty cookies? Now that could work. And They would be easy to share.

And so I have.

Chewy Peppermint Cookies
Adapted from Alice Medrich via Orangette

4 tbsp butter, melted
2/3 c sugar
1/3 c brown sugar
7 tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1 c flour
1/3 c yogurt, plain (I use nonfat)
½ c York Peppermint Patties, cut into quarters

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper. This is a must!

Combine butter and sugars in a large bowl. Sift in cocoa powder and blend well. Add remaining dry ingredients and stir. The dough will become very thick indeed. Carefully add the yogurt. Once the dough is uniform, stir in the Peppermint Patties. Try not to crush them completely, though some casualties are to be expected.

Scoop out about 1 inch balls of dough. Bake 10-12 minutes or until the tops look set. After 5 minutes or so, transfer the cookies to a rack and allow to cool completely. Hopefully, they will have set up enough. They can be rather structurally weak if the Patties have melted out (this is also why we lined the baking sheets!)

 

2 Comments

Filed under Cookies & Bars

2 responses to “Chewy, Minty Goodness

  1. Megan

    This looks wonderful. I have tons a Patties left over from the holidays, so I will for sure be trying this. Question- can you use greek yogurt instead of orginal? or will that make is too thick to work with?

    Thanks!

    -Megan

Leave a Reply

