Sticky Plum Pudding

sticky plum pudding

I missed posting this for Christmas by a lot. But in my defense, I didn’t decide to make it until Christmas morning after the roast had gone into the oven.However, as it has fruit in it, I am deeming it a “healthy dessert.”

I love a British Christmas. It just seems so ideal to me: Charles Dickens, a roaring fire, steamed pudding, the Queen’s speech, Christmas crackers. Since it was going to be a fairly small celebration at my parents’ house, I decided create something different and special. Standing rib roast, check. Yorkshire pudding, check. Sticky toffee pudding, full of dates and sugar-y goodness, oops.

We had no dates.However, a cupboard full of prunes came to my rescue. I must be some kind of weirdo because I really enjoy prunes. I have a kindred spirit in my father. For Father’s Day, I think, I made him Pruneaux d’Agen, which are prune-stuffed-prunes. I was also left with a huge stash of leftover prunes. This was my sneaky way of introducing the rest of the family to what I think may be the tastiest dried fruit.

And the result is that the only picture I have for you is a leftover bite I was able to steal. The plates were wiped clean that night!

Sticky Plum Pudding
Adapted from Chow.com

CAKE
1/2 lb prunes, diced
1/2 c black tea
8 tbsp butter
1 c brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 c flour

TOFFEE SAUCE
5 tbsp butter
3/4 c brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 c milk

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter a 2 1/2 qt casserole dish and set aside.
Bring prunes and tea to a boil in a small saucepan. Remove from heat and set aside to cool.
Set a kettle of water to boil for the water bath.
Beat butter and sugar until light. Add vanilla extract, eggs and salt. Mix until incorporated. Slowly, add flour, being careful not to over mix. Spoon batter into buttered dish.
Place a 9×13 inch baking dish in the preheated oven.  Position the pudding dish in the center of the baking dish. Fill the baking dish with approximately 1 inch of boiling water. Bake 50-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the pudding comes out clean.
While the pudding is baking, prepare the toffee sauce. Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Once melted, add brown sugar and vanilla. Do not stir. Cook over medium heat about 5 minutes or until bubbling and darkened slightly. Carefully whisk in milk. Cook until sauce bubbles up. Remove from heat.
When pudding is finished, cool to room temperature. Once cooled, invert onto a serving plate. Serve with warm toffee sauce.
2 Comments

Filed under British, Cakes & Tarts, Puddings

2 responses to “Sticky Plum Pudding

  1. Marilyn

    Happy New Year to you! This sounds tasty, I too love prunes:)

    Ma and Linus

Leave a Reply

