Baked Rice Pudding

Rice overhead

There are fewer things that I love more than rice pudding. It makes a wonderful breakfast, a heavenly snack, and delightful dessert. You can swirl it with jam or add a little coconut milk to make it more exotic.

So naturally when we had a gallon of milk that was about to expire, I suggested we sacrifice it to make rice pudding. Despite liking to eat it a whole lot, I normally buy rice pudding. In a can. It’s embarrassing but delicious. Whenever I make it at home, it doesn’t seem to ever thicken up properly.

Rice pudding

I turned to Mark Bittman, a man of much food fame for good reasons. I tweaked it a little with the rice/milk ratio and added cardamom because it is my very favorite spice. I also cut back on the sugar. I think you could even do 1/4 c of sugar and add more after if you disagree with me. Anyway, now I have enough rice pudding to feed a small country. Who wants to come over?

Baked Rice Pudding
Adapted from Mark Bittman

1/2 c Arborio rice
1/3 c sugar
1/8 tsp salt
4 c milk
1/2 tsp ground cardamom

Heat the oven to 300°F.

Combine rice, sugar, salt, and milk in a 3 quart baking dish. I used a Pyrex. Stir a couple of times and put it in the oven, uncovered.

Bake for 30 minutes, then stir. Bake for 30 minutes longer, then stir again. Rice will have started swelling and made a skin. Stir smooth. Bake another 30 minutes. Mixture should have dried up considerably.

After another 10 minutes, rice should be plump and milk thickened but still pretty fluid (it will thicken more as it cools). Serve warm, at room temperature, or cold. After it has cooled, you can add more milk or sugar if you like a thinner or sweeter pudding.

Leave a comment

Filed under Puddings, Rice & Grains

Leave a Reply

