Easy Risi Bisi Squeezy

risi bisi

I love food with a fun name. And I am so surprised how much everyone loved this dish.

I’ve actually been sitting on this recipe for quite some time. Since 2011, when I first saw it on rachel eats, a charming blog by an English woman living in Rome. I’ve learned so much about Roman cuisine with her! Anyways, I never got around to making it because Rachel strongly recommended using fresh peas and making a broth from the pea pods. It didn’t sound like something that should be attempted with frozen peas.

But with 3 kg, about 7.6 lb, of peas in the freezer, I knew something had to be done.
Pea soup wasn’t going to go over well but I thought this had a shot. Although my family lives in northern Italy, my grandfather would travel almost weekly to Rome. Roman food = happy grandfather.

My family is specifically from the area of Italy where Arborio and Carnaroli rice are grown, the rice for risotto and needed here. Risotto = happy grandmother.

risaia

I added a little richness with butter and white wine, but the true basis for the flavor comes from some excellent Parmesan cheese and sweet little peas, even if they were frozen! If you can get fresh peas, I’m sure it’s even better. Try using Rachel’s guide for making pea pod broth and tell me how it was.

Risi e Bisi
Adapted from rachel eats

2 c (500 g) peas
olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 1/4 c (225 g) Carnaroli or Arborio rice 3 c (750 ml) chicken broth
1/2 c (120 ml) white wine
3 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
3/4 c (50 g) Parmesan
1 tbsp (50 g) butter

Saute onions in olive oil until soft. Add peas and saute briefly. Add broth and wine and cook until defrosted.

Add rice and stir. Simmer 20 minutes until rice is cooked.

Stir in parsley, Parmesan, and butter. Taste, season, and serve!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Italian, Rice & Grains, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

