Twisting Biscuits

IMG_1866

Normally, hot bread is my choice of accompaniment for a hearty stew or creamy soup. When I can’t get to the store, I turn to biscuits or quick breads. I have no tradition with biscuits so I will serve them with anything. I’ve even been known to serve popovers with stews as well. I like that they can come together in a few minutes and can make even canned soup or leftover stew exciting again.

I’ve been in search of something different for my quick bread needs, though. For that, I turn to cornmeal. Cornmeal can add a great crunch and color to a biscuit, placing in completely in the realm of savory treats. Frankly, I don’t think sugar has a place in biscuits. Corn bread, ok. But biscuits are savory.

I think that adding some grated cheddar would also be outstanding in these. Like most biscuits, they are really best the first day. But I have found that you can out the dough together and cut them out, then freeze them. Just add a few more minutes to the baking time. Also, this dough is very forgiving. You can roll it out a few times and the biscuits don’t suffer.

Cornmeal Biscuits
Adapted from Martha Stewart and Food Network

1 1/2 c flour
1/2 c cornmeal
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
6 tbsp butter
3/4 c buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Whisk together dry ingredients. Blend butter into dry ingredients until fully incorporated. Stir in buttermilk until dough forms.

Scoop dough out onto a floured surface and pat into a circle about 1″ thick. Cut the dough into rounds. I use a juice glass about 2 1/4″ in diameter. Place the rounds on a baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes or until lightly golden.

If you like your biscuits to have more color, you can brush them with milk, butter, or buttermilk before placing them in the oven

Bake at 400°F for 12 minutes. Biscuits are always best fresh from the oven. Their appeal has greatly diminished by the second day but they are still good once toasted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads & Biscuits

Leave a Reply

