Perfect Buttermilk Waffles

IMG_1829

Book of the Month: Goldfinch by Donna Tart

Have you read anything by Donna Tart? If her other stuff is as good as The Goldfinch was (which it is supposed to be), I may have a new favorite author. You’ll get to hear more about my thoughts on Donna Tart later. But it’s important to know that amongst the running trends in her book is Dutch culture, not only because the painting around which the novel is centered is Dutch.

This has gotten me thinking about my Dutch origins. The only Dutch food I know how to make, and to make well, is waffles. Today, I share with you the secret Thomas family recipe. Buttermilk waffles. They are crunchy on the outside and creamy on the inside like the perfect waffle should be. And unlike pancakes, which are all exciting at first but by the end you are sick of them (If you don’t know who I am paraphrasing or why, you need to check this out).

On a side note, this batter also makes pretty incredible pancakes. But back to the waffles.

Waffles are actually really easy. And most waffle batters are pretty similar. The key here is the buttermilk. For years, I always substituted 1 c of milk and 1 tbsp of white vinegar for buttermilk. It does work. However, buttermilk makes a real difference. Once you have it in the house, you will be surprised at A: how fridge-stable it is and B: how many uses you can find for it.

Use it in biscuits, scones, mashed potatoes, fried chicken, roast chicken, salad dressing, soda bread…the Internet is full of suggestions!

Yes, our secret Dutch recipe is in Italian.

Yes, our secret Dutch recipe is in Italian.

Buttermilk Waffles

2 c flour2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 c buttermilk
1/3 c vegetable oil

Briefly whisk together dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and gently combine. Scoop into waffle iron the amount appropriate for your machine.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dutch

3 responses to “Perfect Buttermilk Waffles

  1. crog7777

    I support all references to Mitch and of course all waffles. I’ve had them, they are delicious!

  2. crog7777

    I support all references to Mitch and of course I support waffles! I’ve been lucky enough to sample this recipe; I highly recommend making them.

Leave a Reply

