Creamy Lime Pudding

IMG_1773

I love British puddings. Custard-y, creamy puddings are great too. But sometimes a steamed, spongy pudding is in order. I was in the mood for a nice lemon pudding and set about scouring the Internet for a good recipe.

That is how I discovered the lovely blog, Dinner with Julie. I don’t know Julie but her description of her grandmother’s lemon pudding cake had my mouth watering.

I came home to find that I had no lemons. Only limes. Had I have been thinking more clearly, I would have swapped the milk for coconut milk and gone completely tropical. Perhaps next time. This incarnation would also be delicious with whipped coconut cream on top.

Like Julie, much of this dish was eaten directly out of the baking dish. Just one little bite more, oh well, now it’s crooked…There was very little left. It was still nice on the second day, but it is nicer hot I think.

In the oven goes this fluffy thing and 45 minutes later you are presented with a soft, spongy cake and a tart, creamy pudding underneath. I’m starting to think that it could also be nice with raspberry or maybe rhubarb! I’m not sure how that would work but I give it a go when they are back in season.

Steamed Lime Pudding
Adapted from Dinner with Julie

2 limes, juiced and zested
1 c milk
1 1/2 tbsp melted butter
2 eggs
1 c sugar
1/3 c flour
1/2 tsp baking powder, short
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 375°F.

In a large bowl, whisk together limes, milk, butter, and egg yolks. Set aside whites in a separate bowl.

Add 2/3 c sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk until smooth.

Beat whites until stiff with remaining 1/3 c sugar. Fold whites into batter. Pour batter into buttered 1.5 quart baking dish. I used a round Corningware.

Set baking dish into a 8×13 baking tray. Place both in preheated oven. Pour hot water into the baking tray, filing about halfway. Steam pudding 45 minutes, until golden and springy to the touch.

Leave a comment

Filed under British, Puddings

Leave a Reply

