Not-Too-Exotic Beef Stew

IMG_1755

More cold weather is coming our way. It’s very strange. Yesterday was almost spring-like. It was a cruel tease. There is at least 2 inches of snow already and I have to go find new tires for my car. I haven’t been a big fan of 2014 as of yet but there is still time to turn it around.

I have been getting tired of beef and lamb stews, too. I love how warm and comforting they are but sometime you want to spice things up. That is why I turned to my “Around the World” cookbook. It was a Christmas present from several years ago and covers a dozen of so countries’ cuisines.

I am particularly fond of the Moroccan section. I’m not sure if the recipes are all that representative of the real cuisine, but I find them pretty tasty. I always tone the spices back to start and add them after because I am feeding a wide range of palates. This was quite mild as it is prepared below, so feel free to kick it up.

Cooking it is the oven was nice but you can absolutely cook it on the stove instead. The most important tool is a large Dutch oven. With all the housewares sales going on, it is a good time to pick one up for yourself!

The original recipe used sweet potatoes. As I only had butternut squash, I think it made a very good substitute. I tend to use them fairly interchangeably. They, either the squash or potatoes, add both color and body to the stew. I think regular potatoes would be boring looking and carrots wouldn’t add much either, but let me know if you give them a try!

Moroccan Beef Stew
Adapted from The Around the World Cookbook

1 1/2 – 2 lb stewing beef
ground turmeric
1 onion, chopped
1 red chilli, seeded and chopped
1 1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 lb butternut squash
1 tbsp parsley, chopped

Cut beef into 1 inch cubes. Heat oil in a large dutch oven and sear beef. Once browned, cover with lid and cook over low heat for 15 minutes. Preheat oven to 350°F.

Add turmeric, onion, chilli, paprika, cumin, and salt and toss with beef. Add enough water to cover meat. Place pot in oven and cook for 1-1 1/2 hrs, until beef is tender. Add extra water as necessary.

Peel and slice butternut squash into 1/4″ half moons. Place in a pot of boiling, slated water for 2-3 minutes. The squash should be tender but not soft. Drain.

Add parsley to beef. Cover the top of the stew with sliced butternut squash. Return to oven for 10 minutes until squash is very tender. Serve and enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Meat & Fish, Soups & Stews

One response to “Not-Too-Exotic Beef Stew

  1. It sounds lovely and I especially love the Moroccan spices in it.

Leave a Reply

