Foolproof Madeleines

Book of the Month: Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust

If you are going to be trapped inside by frigid temperatures and gusting winds, why not set about tackling a great literary masterpiece? I will admit Proust took me several tries to finish. However, it was not due to lack of interest. It was due to lack of time.

If you are in a hurry and need a quick dessert, I would suggest madeleines. Of course, I couldn’t really pick something different if I was going to be discussing Proust. But these are also very tasty treats and I have found the recipe to be a complete success every time I use it.

IMG_1734

Speaking of lack of time, I apologize for these photos. I baked them in the middle of the night, which was not really the best time. But considering how tasty they are, I don’t regret it.

A perfectly formed madeleine should have the traditional hump, a beautifully shelled bottom, a moist  cake-y crumb, and a lightly sweet taste. I’m not really sure why some are nervous about making these. I find them delightfully easy. Now I hope you will too!

Foolproof Madeleines
Taken from a recipe by Madame Franco, my mother’s childhood neighbor

2 eggs
3/4 c sugar (150 gr)
1 1/4 c flour (150 gr)
10 tbsp butter (125 gr)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp chestnut honey

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Beat together eggs and sugar. Add flour and butter, alternating. The butter should be at room temperature. Lastly, add vanilla and honey, if desired.

Spray madeleine molds. Add a heaping spoonful of batter into each indentation.

Bake 8-10 minutes. Madeleines should spring back when pressed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies & Bars, Cuisine, French

Leave a Reply

