Lazy Morning Muffins

As you may have noticed, I have been slacking off. I am taking full advantage of winter break. That includes waking up and making muffins because I want them.

IMG_1610

Martha Stewart calls them coffee cake muffins and serves them with a blueberry yogurt parfait. I don’t know that they remind me all that much of coffee cake. They have a layer of cinnamon brown sugar streusel but lack the crumbles on top of a coffee cake.

I made a few trades, removing pecans (because I am allergic) and adding yogurt for moisture. Mind you eat them promptly because they go stale in a few days. Of course, then you have an excuse to eat them with cream cheese.

I started this blog as a way to entertain myself. To give myself something to do. It feels like I don’t have control over so many thing sin my life and at least in the kitchen I know how this will turn out, for the most part.

With a good recipe, you can tweek a little, swap a little, and some how, things work out. Let’s hope that in 2014, things find a way to work out for the better. I know I could use a break. Happy thoughts and warm muffins to you all!

Cinnamon Muffins
Adapted from Martha Stewart Magazine

CINNAMON SWIRL
1/2 c brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
2 tsp flour
3 tbsp butter, melted

BATTER
8 tbsp butter, melted
3/4 c sugar
2 eggs
1/4 c yogurt
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
2 c flour

Preheat oven to 350°F. Assemble cinnamon swirl by mixing together brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, flour, and melted butter. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk together melted butter, sugar, eggs, and yogurt. Stir in all dry ingredients except for flour until smooth. Fold in flour to batter.

Spray muffin tins. Scoop in batter to fill muffin cups less than 1/3 of the way. I used a 1/8 c measuring cup. Divide cinnamon swirl amongst the muffin tins. Top with remaining batter.

Martha suggest filling empty muffin tins with water to help distribute heat. I didn’t have an empty spots so I can not attest to the success of this scheme.

Bake about 18 minutes. Let cool slightly and serve warm. They are also tasty with butter or cream cheese if you are feeling decadent!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads & Biscuits, Breakfast

Leave a Reply

