How to Make Hard-Boiled Eggs

IMG_1376

A perfect hard boiled egg

I’m always surprised by how many people don’t know how to hard boil an egg. I know that the Internet is full of “fool-proof” methods but this one has never let me down.

It is one of the few things I can manage to do in the morning. This morning, two of the eggs were destined for my breakfast tray, along with some cheesy toast and a huge pot of strong tea. After all, I needed my energy to finish to a Downton Abbey marathon. I made some extra hard boiled eggs as well because I adore egg salad, always have.

It is my little secret.

IMG_1375

So many uses, but also wonderful gobbled up as they are!

Everybody knows that egg salad is not exactly the kind of thing you ask your mother to put in your lunch box. This prompted me to learn to make it for myself as a quick lunch when I’m on my own. I chop up the eggs into big chunks and stir it with Miracle Whip, mustard, and capers. If I’m feeling posh, there might be some chopped parsley or chives, but there must always be capers in my opinion. The version made at Starbucks is my very favorite. My recipe is more flexible, as seen below.

Anyways, being able to hard boil an egg is amongst the most basic of cooking skills. Here is the fool-proof method I learned from my mother. We keep a copy taped to the cupboard door next to the stove so it is always on hand. Not a bad idea and an easy source of protein in the morning.

Hard Boiled Eggs
Cover eggs with water in a small saucepan. Bring to a full boil. After 1 minute, cover and turn off heat. Let stand off the hot burner for 5-6 minutes. Rinse; transfer to ice-water bath.

Egg Salad
Inspired by Starbucks

multigrain bread (not sandwich bread), toasted
hard cooked eggs
Miracle Whip (or mayonnaise, if you are so inclined)
dijon mustard
salt and pepper
chives, chopped (optional)
capers

Roughly chop the eggs. You want them to retain texture since there is no celery. Plop the eggs into a bowl and start toasting your bread. While the bread gets to be a nice golden color, scoop a little Miracle Whip and mustard, about 50-50, in with the eggs. Stir gently. Add more Miracle Whip and mustard if the mixture looks dry.

Taste. Add salt and pepper accordingly. Sprinkle in the chives and capers. Pile only top of the toasted bread and sink your teeth into the egg salad that you will be proud of.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Eggs

Leave a Reply

